Ewings Sarcoma; Beat That

October 7, 2009 I began to cough up blood while sitting around my home in Leesburg, Fl. Earlier that day I had been working with an adhesive removal product and I was laying over a hardwood floor trying to remove excess glue. Thinking back at what I was doing earlier in the day I didn’t think that what I would discover in the next several days would be the beginning of a very long journey in my life. My fiance and I began reading into why I would have been coughing up blood. By midnight we decided it was best to head to the hospital before it got worse.

I read on the internet that cancer could be a cause of coughing up blood in your sputum, however didn’t want to believe that was even an option. We spent 7 long hours in the ER, and by the end, had no concrete answers. The only answer was that I had a large circle in the xray of my lung and I was being admitted. At that point, the ER doctor thought it was one of the most beautiful pneumatic sacs he has ever saw. “A Perfect Circle.”

In order to keep my first blog brief, I want to skip 5 very emotional and very erratic days and say by October 12th, 2009, I was being sent to H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Institute in Tampa, Florida with an Askin’s Tumor in my left lung which is a part of EFT. The Ewing’s Family of Tumors.

Ewing sarcoma is a malignant round-cell tumor. It is a rare disease in which cancer cells are found in the bone or soft tissue.

The next 7 months leading up to now have been a complete roller coaster. Being a cancer patient and hopefully a cancer survivor will make you go through changes you could have never expected. It makes you want to do new things with your life and create new adventures. One of the things I have discovered in my life is that I would like to create a short film based on the journey that I have taken and continue to take up to this point.

Enter: Beat That. The Short Film that I have begun working toward accomplishing. Currently in the script and funding phase. At the moment our script is complete as far as a rough draft goes. I believe it will take more time to perfect and I will continue to mold this script into the best possible short film I can. We are looking at a 10-15 minute film with a tough message but a beautiful result. This is my story, and it’s going to get shared.

You are welcome to follow along through various resources and be a part of this great journey. The journey of filmmaking; the journey of survival; the journey of winning. Beating Ewing’s Sarcoma. Beat That.

Follow us:

http://twitter.com/teeJayRyan

http://www.facebook.com/ABruno.tJRyan

Donate at:

http://www.indiegogo.com/Beat-That

Let’s make a movie. Let’s tell the story.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ewings Sarcoma; Beat That

  1. Danielle says:

    This is me being picky – haha – but you might want to fix the dates from 2010 to 2009. Unless you’re from the future… in which case: right on!

    On another note, I’m “Danie”. Nikki’s friend from high school. I’m all for helping you out with this and will do whatever I can to help you out. Behind you all the way!

    :o)
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

